About Nutrition Society of India

The Nutrition Society of India (NSI) established in 1967 is an association of nutrition professionals, programmers and policy makers from India and abroad. The society is dedicated to disseminate the results of the latest research in nutrition – basic and applied aspects; analyse the current status of nutrition programmes in the country and recommend appropriate strategies to promote nutrition of the community at large. The NSI, through its annual meetings provides a forum for young scientists to present their research findings

  • International Union Nutritional Sciences (IUNS), through the adhering body, Indian National Science Academy (INSA)
  • Federation of Asian Societies of Nutrition


Dr. Ashok Mitra

Tenure: 1979 - 1983

Dr. S. Varadarajan

Tenure: 1983 - 1987

Dr. Rajammal P. Devadas

Tenure: 1987 - 1991

DR. K.T. Achaya

Tenure: 1991 - 1995

Dr. B.N. Tandon

Tenure: 1995 - 1999

Dr. B.S. Narasinga Rao

Tenure: 1999 - 2003

Dr. Kamala Krishnaswamy

Tenure: 2003 - 2008

Dr. V. Prakash

Tenure: 2008 - 2012

Dr. Anura V. Kurpad

Tenure: 2012-2016

Dr. B. Sesikeran

Tenure: 2016 - 2020

Dr. R. Hemalatha

Tenure: 2020- till date


The headquarters of the Society is located at the National Institute of Nutrition, Hyderabad. The NSI has 36 zonal chapters in different parts of the country. It has about 5500 Life Members and 200 ordinary and 500 student members

Contact us

Latest News


Announcement of 15th Dr. Rajammal P. Devadas Memorial Award

Dr. Rajammal P. Devadas Memorial Award was instituted in 2010 by the Alumni Association of the Avinashilingam Deemed University along with the faculty..